Our Lives in Stasis

POD: Thymes remembered


 

 

On a delivery today my friend and I stopped in at a main street antique store.   love to antique and discover history in those musty places that collect artifacts.  As a amateur photographer (self considered) I’m always on the look out for photos as old as can be as well as paintings, drawing, etc; it makes me feel like I’m getting my moneies worth on my art history degree lol.  We begin scavenging.  At first nothing but inexpensive costume jewelry and low grade coloured glass ware.  By chance I looked down and saw a box of old photos of varying sizes for 2 bucks a piece.  I rummage a bit and turn a few over to see what’s on the back and this is what I saw:

 

 

I ended up purchasing three photocards that had this address stamped on the back for a total of $6.36.  Priceless to me.  My great grandfather I was told used to operate a photography studio around the turn of the twentieth century in York, Pa and it was located directly adjacent to my old high school.  So the story goes via my dad and grandmother.  On a hunch I bought these because I “knew” these were his.

We returned to the store and I showed these to my dad and he was blown away.  “Your great grandfather touched these!”.  “how did you find these?!”.  As a family we actually have no visual record of what he photographed and for me to find these three postcards on a whim is incredible.  It’s funny how you can find pieces of your history in a dirty box on a counter almost an hour away from home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are the three images that I was lucky to purchase and these are the POD for the evening.  I love the sepia feel and the stiff feel of the three ladies.  They definitely seem uncomfortable or very unhappy for having their pictures taken.  Luckily for them I have a piece of my families history to reflect on.  Thank you ladies and thanks to my great grandfather for passing the photo bug gene down the line!

5 responses

  1. I absolutely love this story, so neat to have a bit of your own family history. Indeed priceless!!! I have my grandfather’s stamp collection, they don’t have photos, but they have addresse from people he wrote to around the world, it’s neat to look at.

    August 6, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    • I am very thankful to have randomly stumbled onto this. It’s funny to because two days later I went to the same area of shops and found three more photos! Very exciting. Your grandpa’s stamp collection sound pretty awesome. I always had interest in old correspondences like that. Here’s to memories!

      August 6, 2011 at 10:04 pm

  2. the photos are interesting in themselves, but when you add the story they work on such a different level.

    i have a friend who calls this type of thing ‘synchronicity’. and i find the more i am open to these oddly conincidental event – the more they happen!

    August 11, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    • Ain’t ! The story is pretty cool and I hope I can find out more but you never know.

      August 12, 2011 at 5:40 pm

  3. Denise Mauzy

    Love this story. You are very lucky!

    February 3, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Leave a Reply

