Our Lives in Stasis

Competition Question


For everyone who votes and competes I have a question for you.  Do you object to multiple votes?

The reason for asking is this:  anyone can enter a photo any day of the month and anyone can vote any day of the month. I set it up this way to give people the incentive of getting their shots in early to get a better shot of winning while also spurring interaction.  However, last month there were some late entries that had almost no time to have the chance to recieve votes.  Some people may say “That’s their fault.” or “Not my problem.”  Your right on both accounts but I see it detrimental to the entire point of this competition!

By allowing multiple votes I feel that this levels the playing field for late entries AND it keeps people coming back to check out new photos which increases interaction!

 

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE leave comments and let me know what you think!

Thanks, Chris

10 responses

  1. I can see it both ways. But I was holding off on my vote until later in the month so that I could pick the one that I thought was best. Maybe allow submissions during the first half of the month and voting during the second half. Maybe? Either way, I enjoy checking out the nice photos submitted and I learn a lot from them, too. Thanks.

    February 5, 2012 at 12:23 am

  2. Well I’m not sure how I feel about it because, on the one hand it is unfair to the people that have already submitted their photos at the beginning of the month. But then it leaves out the people that submitted towards the end. I think perhaps like Carltonaut said opening submissions at the beginning of the month allows for time for people to put in votes later on in the month. Err sooo I guess I’m not for the multiple votes….

    February 5, 2012 at 12:38 am

  3. Not in favour of multiple votes (unless limited to 2 ) but would be in favour of submission period followed by a voting period. So say submissions for whole month then voting for the week after.

    February 5, 2012 at 3:10 am

  4. I’m new to the site and haven’t voted yet in any of the competitions, I was going to vote at the end of the month, there are so many great photos appearing every day it seems the sensible thing to do. So I probably agree with those who propose a submission period followed by a voting period at the end of the month.

    February 5, 2012 at 7:02 am

  5. sheila

    Chris,
    I like the multi vote.As you said this option keeps people coming back,and to generate newbies.Just my thought.

    February 5, 2012 at 7:39 am

  6. I think you can have many favorites, why shouldn’t people be allowed to vote as much as they want? I think all is fair! One thing though I think there should be cut off date for those late submissions and late voters!

    February 5, 2012 at 1:20 pm

  7. It’s always tough in these public voting comps. What about enter in February with comments closed until March. Then allow voting in March on Feb’s images. It would put the winner’s announcement a month behind at the end of the year, but that’s probably a little fairer imo.

    February 5, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  8. Alrighty then! Starting in March and through out the rest of the series there will be a submission period following a voting period. People will only have one vote!
    Obviously the submissions will start the first of the month and so will the voting for the previous month and will end the 7th of the month.
    So the submissions for March will start March 1st and end march 31st. Voting for March will start April 1st and end April 7th.

    Sound good?
    Btw Thank you for all of the input guys!

    February 5, 2012 at 11:04 pm

  9. Sounds great. What about voting for February. You could delete the voting and have the first week of March be Feb’s voting period too.

    February 6, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    • I think I will leave it be for the rest of february to be be honest but thanks for looking out! If the amount of votes was lower I would consider starting it over.

      February 6, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

